Gimpel the Fool and Other Stories

Gimpel the Fool and Other Stories
Isaac Bashevis Singer’s first collection of stories, Gimpel the Fool, is a landmark work that has attracted international acclaim since it was first published in 1957. In Saul Bellow’s masterly translation, the title story follows the exploits of Gimpel, an ingenuous baker who is universally deceived but who declines to retaliate against his tormentors. Gimpel and the protagonists of the other stories in this volume all inhabit the distinctive pre–World War II ghettos of Poland and, beyond that, the larger world created by Singer’s unforgettable prose.

Table of Contents:

Gimpel the Fool
The Gentleman from Cracow
The Wife Killer
By the Light of Memorial Candles
The Mirror
The Little Shoemakers
From the Diary of One not Born
The Old Man
The Unseen

Powered by